国际课程研究促进协会第五次会议

EN   |   ES   |  FR   |   IT   |   KR   |   PT   |   RU

国际课程研究促进协会第五次会议
征稿通知

加拿大渥太华大学
2015年5月26-29日

 

所有教育者都在塑造世界;理论工作者应时刻关注教育者们所使用的工具,以便塑造出一个更加完美、公正的世界。

——休伯纳,1975,第228页

 

课程这个概念对许多人来说意味着很多事情。

——Aoki, 1980/2005, 第94页

 

我们特别受黑脚族(北美印第安人的一族,译者注)的概念“aoksisowaato’p”的启发,意在揭示造访某地的伦理意义,将其视为一种重建关系的行为,这种行为对该地及我们自身都具有赐予并维系生命的力量。

——布拉德、查姆博斯、唐纳德、哈斯博•路德和比格•哈德,2012,第48页

 

我们谨代表“国际课程研究促进协会”(IAACS)组委会,并以会议主席的身份,邀请你们参加本协会的第五届国际会议。我们期待在渥太华大学的会议期间,为你们分享自己的研究心得、个人故事、成就及存在性体验提供国际化的庇所。自成立以来,“国际课程研究促进协会”的历届会议已在多个洲和国家举办过(中国2003,芬兰2006,南非2009,巴西2012)。每个举办地都为参与者们提供了独特的艺术、文化、历史、物质、社会心理与政治上的“存在体验课程”(Aoki, 1991/2005, 第160页)。本次举办单位位于加拿大首都的市中心,坐落于渥太华峡谷的基底处,可俯视Kichi Sibi (即渥太华河) 的交汇与分流,及在传统的亚冈昆部落(Anishinàbeg)领地上蜿蜒洄转——亚冈昆人自远古时期以来就在这片土地上繁衍生息。这个地方独特的地理、情感、理智、生理及精神风貌已经并将继续为探索加拿大或其他国家本土及外域社群的当代关系及争议历史提供重要平台(Donald, 2012)。恰如Chambers (2012)所提到的,这正是我们作为“协约民族”(treaty people)的共同特征。

 

正如你们中的一些人已经知道或未曾知道的,本协会成立于15年前的路易斯安娜州立大学(参见Trueit et. al, 2000)。在那个时候,一群课程研究的学者齐聚一堂,“共议课程领域的各类议题,并了解人们在做什么、如何做以及是怎样思考的”,以期待能够相互学习(Trueit, 2000, p. x)。就像Aoki(2000)彼时所指出的,“国际课程研究促进协会”及其附属会议,提供了一个潜在的“第三空间”,有助于生成“符号学的表征,使片段式游戏中的语言及文化符号催生出新奇与希望”(p. 457)。即便我们所面临的是一个被人称之为处于政治、环境、经济和生存危机之中的世界,(根本的)希望会继续指引我们三年一聚。但是,在这个真实抑或想象的危机时刻,作为课程学者的我们应该做点什么呢,特别是在“课程”这个概念对许多人来说意味着很多事物的时候?不管是在加拿大还是在其他国度,我们都不会是第一个问此类国际性课程问题之人。

 

在1975年,Dwayne Huebner要求我们重新考虑课程理论家的任务。与他彼时的观点相呼应的是,我们或许也会问,在过去40年间针对这个问题的回答是否有明显的精进?自本论文出版以来,许多其他国际学者也致力于解答这个永恒的问题1。例如在1982年,《从理论到实践》(Theory Into Practice)期刊出版了一个专刊,集中探索课程理论的再概念化议题(McCutcheon, 1982)。在这一期专刊中,一批国际课程学者问道:何谓课程理论?我们如何获得一个课程理论?建立课程理论的意义何在?从某种程度上来说,前次在巴西以“质疑课程理论”为主题的会议即寻求在多元的纵向、横向空间内部或相互之间(这些空间组成了我们所居住、热爱并工作的地方并使之情境化),解决诸如此类或不同的课程问题。.

 

值此千禧年交替之际,Chambers (1999)为加拿大课程理论家、政策制定者、行政人员、一线教师和研究生们指出了如下四类令人深思的挑战,希望他/她们在思考、构建课程理论或进行课程设计时多加考虑。

  1. 我们已经制造出何种语言及阐释性的工具,来研究我们所知为何及欲往何方?
  2. 我们已经制造出何种语言及阐释性的工具,来研究我们所知为何及欲往何方?
  3. 课程理论家究竟以怎样的方式细写传统主题——即我们居住及工作的独特地方和区域?
  4. 这些地方如何渗透在我们的理论化过程之中,无论是显在还是缺省,抑或我们是否愿意?

 

确实,我们觉得这四个问题依然是重要的。它促使我们重新思考国际课程学者的角色与作用,以及我们如何可以(或不可以)挑战“社会效率”的话语,和当前这股将“课程”(再)概念化的任务移交给跨国公司和(或)政治实体的潮流。

 

加拿大历史上存在令教育部、大学和课程学者感到振奋的时刻。例如在安大略省,主要的教师教育及课程实施改革都会发生在您访问我们的时期。从全国来看,加拿大教育院长协会准备在2014年5月加拿大教育研究协会的年度会议上正式发布“教育国际化协议”。这个协议里主要的实践领域之一便是要了解加拿大课程的国际化。为缅怀过去那个令人深思而又激动人心的时刻,并谋划下届会议主题,我们或许会问,如要回应这个真实抑或想象的危机,挑战传统的课程学者究竟需要在本土、本国乃至国际层面上做些什么?我们应当如何以一种Adrienne Rich (2001)所言的“不可能的艺术”去应对和(或)质疑这个作为道德契约(ethical engagement)的问题?当我们顺从于这种质疑之不可能的可能性时,我们或可一起在春季拜访渥太华大学并相互对话,这对于这个传统的亚冈昆部落地带、本届大会、我们彼此及自身,都会是一个赐予并维持生命的关系重建行为。

加拿大历史上存在令教育部、大学和课程学者感到振奋的时刻。例如在安大略省,主要的教师教育及课程实施改革都会发生在您访问我们的时期。从全国来看,加拿大教育院长协会准备在2014年5月加拿大教育研究协会的年度会议上正式发布“教育国际化协议”。这个协议里主要的实践领域之一便是要了解加拿大课程的国际化。为缅怀过去那个令人深思而又激动人心的时刻,并谋划下届会议主题,我们或许会问,如要回应这个真实抑或想象的危机,挑战传统的课程学者究竟需要在本土、本国乃至国际层面上做些什么?我们应当如何以一种 Adrienne Rich (2001)所言的“不可能的艺术”去应对和(或)质疑这个作为道德契约(ethical engagement)的问题?当我们顺从于这种质疑之不可能的可能性时,我们或可一起在春季拜访渥太华大学并相互对话,这对于这个传统的亚冈昆部落地带、本届大会、我们彼此及自身,都会是一个赐予并维持生命的关系重建行为。


 

大会主席

Awad Ibrahim, 博士
教授(课程理论方向)
渥太华大学教育学院
电子邮箱: aibrahim@uottawa.ca

Nicholas Ng-A-Fook, 博士
副教授(课程理论方向)
渥太华大学教育学院
电子邮箱: nngafook@uottawa.ca

大会议程协调员

Bryan Smith, 博士候选人
渥太华大学教育学院
电子邮箱: bsmit038@uottawa.ca

Cristyne Hebert, 博士候选人
约克大学教育学院
电子邮箱: Cristyne_Hebert@edu.yorku.ca

国际课程研究促进协会执委会

主席: Elizabeth Macedo (巴西)
副主席: Lesley Le Grange (南非)
财务主管: Nicholas Ng-A-Fook (加拿大)
秘书: Poonam Batra (印度)

“国际课程研究促进协会”网址: http://www.iaacs.ca/

 

论文提交程序

汇报者可以提交个人论文、小组论文和(或)其他形式的论文。所提交的论文应包括汇报者的姓名、所属机构、联络方式、技术要求,以及对论文的简要介绍。个人论文和(或)其他论文在字数上不得超过500字英文(不包括参考文献)。小组论文不得超过1000字英文(不包括参考文献)。渥太华大学是加拿大最大的双语大学,其官方语言是英语和法语。因此我们可评审和接受由这两种语言书写的论文。

 

我们会优先接受那些符合本届大会主题的论文,但是也非常欢迎参会者提交其他主题的论文。我们欢迎各种汇报格式。如要确保大会的议程包含你的论文,请在2014年11月15日之前提交。提交论文的具体事宜,请访问以下网址: http://www.bryanabsmith.com/iaacs.

 

在提交论文之前,我们鼓励参会者申请成为“国际课程研究促进协会”的会员。本协会免收会员费。请访问以下网址: http://www.iaacs.ca/membership-registration/.

 

如果你需要我们提供出差的其他文件,欢迎通过下列邮箱地址联系我们: nngafook@uottawa.ca

 

本届大会由渥太华大学教育学院 (Faculty of Education at the University of Ottawa)、加拿大课程研究协会 (Canadian Association of Curriculum Studies)、加拿大教育研究协会 (Canadian Society for the Study of Education) 联合举办并赞助。

* 关于第五届三年展会议信息也可以在 PDF 查看。

_______________________

[1] de Alba (2011), Egéa-Kuehne (2003), Le Grange (2010), Macedo (2011), Ropo & Tero, (2009), Pinar, (2013), Smits, (2008); and/or Zhang Hua & Zhenyu Gao, (2013) 等就是其中一些典型的国际研究成果,对国际课程研究促进协会之历史背景不了解的教授和研究生们,可以在本次大会召开之前先行查阅。

[2] 参考文献

↑ Return to Conference

5th IAACS Triennial Conference – 05/2015

ES   |   FR   |   IT   |   KR   |   PT   |   RU   |   ZH

International Association for the Advancement of Curriculum Studies
The 5th Triennial Conference Call for Presentations

Conference Theme:
What are the tasks of the curriculum scholars for the 21st century?

Hosted at the University of Ottawa
May 26-29, 2015

 

All educators attempt to shape the world; theorists should call attention to the tools used for the shaping in order that the world being shaped can be more beautiful and just.

(Huebner, 1975, p. 228)

 

The term curriculum is many things to many people.

(Aoki, 1980/2005, p. 94)

 

We are particularly inspired by the Blackfoot concept aoksisowaato’p, which refers to the ethical importance of visiting a place as an act of relational renewal that is life-giving and life-sustaining, both to the place and to ourselves.

(Blood, Chambers, Donald, Hasebe-Ludt, and Big Head, 2012, p. 48)

 

On behalf of the International Association for the Advancement of Curriculum Studies (IAACS) executive and in our capacity as conference chairs, we would like to invite you to join us for the fifth iteration of this conference. We are looking forward to providing a cosmopolitan refuge for each of you to share your research, stories, performances, and lived experiences with us during your stay at the University of Ottawa. Since its inception IAACS and its respective conference have migrated and inhabited several different continents and countries (China 2003, Finland, 2006, South Africa, 2009, and Brazil, 2012). Each place has provided a unique aesthetic, cultural, historical, material, psychosocial, and political “curriculum-as-lived-experience” for those in attendance (Aoki, 1991/2005, p. 160). Our institution is located within the downtown of our nation’s capital, which sits at base of the Ottawa valley and overlooks the confluences and tributaries of the Kichi Sibi (Ottawa River) that meander across and beyond the traditional territories of the Anishinàbeg who have lived and migrated upon this landscape since time immemorial. The cosmological, emotional, intellectual, physical, and spiritual topographies of this landscape have provided, and continue to provide, a place for hosting the contested histories of, and contemporary relations between, Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities here in Canada or elsewhere (Donald, 2012). This is, as Chambers (2012) reminds us, our common countenance as treaty people.

 

As some of you may or may not know, the first iteration of this conference began 15 years ago at Louisiana State University (see Trueit et. al, 2000). At that time, a community of curriculum scholars gathered to “talk about issues in curriculum, hearing what people do, how they do it, how they think about things” with the hope that we could learn from each other (Trueit, 2000, p. x). Like Aoki (2000) suggested then, the IAACS and its associated conference provided a potential “Third space” to provoke “semiotic signs wherein linguistic and cultural signs in interludic play could generate newness and hope” (p. 457). Even as we face, what some might call a world in political, environmental, economic, existential, and so on crisis, (radical) hope continues to sustain our triennial gathering. And yet, during such real and/or imagined times of crisis, what should our tasks as curriculum scholars be, especially when the term “curriculum” remains many things, to many people? Whether here in Canada or others elsewhere, we are not the first to ask such internationally relevant curriculum question.

 

In 1975, Dwayne Huebner, asked us to reconsider the tasks of the curriculum theorist. Echoing his sentiments at that time, we might also ask, has any “progress” in response to this question been made is the last forty years? Since the publication of this essay, several other international scholars have sought to address this timeless question1. For example in 1982, a special issue of Theory Into Practice was devoted to the conceptualizations of curriculum theory (McCutcheon, 1982). In this issue a group of international curriculum scholars asked: What is curriculum theory? How might we get one? What is it good for? In part, the conference theme questioning curriculum theory at our last conference in Brazil sought to address similar and different curricular questions within and across the diversified vertical and horizontal topographies that constitute and contextualize the places we live, love, and work within.

 

At the turn of this millennium, Chambers (1999) put forth the following four thought-provoking challenges for Canadian curriculum theorists, policy makers, administrators, practicing teachers, and graduate students to reconsider in their thinking, theorizing and curriculum designs.

 

  1. How are we experimenting with tools from different Canadian intellectual traditions and incorporating them into our theorizing?
  2. What kinds of languages and interpretive tools have we created to study what we know and where we want to go?
  3. In what ways have, and are, curriculum theorists writing in a detailed way the topos— the particular places and regions where we live and work?
  4. How are these places inscribed in our theorizing, as either presence or absence, whether we want them there or not?

 

Indeed, these four questions are, we suggest, still relevant. They invite us to reconsider our tasks as international curriculum scholars, and in turn, how we might (or not) challenge the discourse of “social efficiency” and the current push to hand over our re/conceptualizations of “curriculum” to multinational corporations and/or certain governmental regimes.

 

These are exciting times for Ministries of Education, Universities, and curriculum scholars in Canada. In Ontario for example, major teacher education and curriculum implementation reforms will be taking place at the time of your visit. On the national stage, the Association of Canadian Deans of Education are set to officially release their Accord on the Internationalization of Education at our annual Canadian Society for the Study of Education conference this upcoming May, 2014. One of the key areas of practices put forth in the Accord is to understand the internationalization of Canadian curriculum. For the next conference theme, and with such thought-provoking excitement in mind, we might ask what are the local, national, and international tasks of curriculum scholars that defy conventions while responding to such times of real and/or imagined crisis? How ought we respond to, and/or question, this question as an ethical engagement with what Adrienne Rich (2001) has called elsewhere the arts of the impossible? While submitting ourselves to the impossible possibilities of such kinds of questioning, may we spend next spring visiting and conversing together as an act of relational renewal that is life-giving and life-sustaining to this traditional Anishinàbeg place, the conference, to each other, and to ourselves.

 

To submit proposals, click here.
To meet our conference executives, click here.
Click here to learn about registration.
Click here to learn about keynotes.

* Information about the 5th Triennial Conference is also available on PDF.
_______________________

[1] The works of de Alba (2011), Egéa-Kuehne (2003), Le Grange (2010), Macedo (2011), Ropo & Tero, (2009), Pinar, (2013), Smits, (2008); and/or Zhang Hua & Zhenyu Goa, (2013) are some international examples that both professors and graduate students who are unfamiliar with the historical contexts of IAACS might consult prior to our gathering.

[2] Reference.